Planting the seed

Hi there!  Welcome to the debut of PRisGrowth.  I’m thrilled you stopped by.  I’ve got to admit, I’ve been pretty nervous about jumping into the blogosphere.  It’s like standing on a stage with your pants around your ankles in front of the whole high school.  EVERYONE CAN SEE YOU, and it ain’t pretty! 

Not that everyone is looking, but my point is that in the public realm you’re vulnerable. Keeping that in mind, I plan to stay on my best behavior with my belt fastened tight. 

Anyway, let’s talk about what this blog is really about:

  • It’s about you,
  • it’s about your job, and
  • it’s about the people you work with.

My goal is to provide you with knowledge and advice about how to foster growth and good communication in the workplace. 

 Employee relations, also called internal communications, is a relatively new function in the corporate world today, but it is imperative to all organizations.  Employees are the front-runners of a business.  The way that they portray a company to friends and family, and how they perform their jobs can make or break that business.  

It’s up to both management and associates to be aware of that, and to work together to create a culture of unity that makes employees proud to say, “I love this company, and I want others to love it too!”  But how do you do that?

I suggest checking out an article that appeared in the New York Times this week, We love our jobs. Just ask us.  Milton Moskowitz, co-author of “The 100 Best Companies to Work for in America,” writes about how various companies in the U.S. have developed satisfied and motivated workforces within their organizations.

There are three things that help to build a successful, workforce:

  • Two-way communication,
  • Honesty, and
  • Recognition.
  • Moskowitz said it best, “A great workplace is one where management trusts the employees and where employees trust the management.” 

    It’s about building a relationship between those two groups, and creating cohesive bonds between co-workers.  That requires open communication, plain and simple. 

    Tune in next week, as I will explore the issues that hinder employee relations, and discuss management’s role in developing trusting, open relationships with their associates.

    One Response

    1. I agree completely with this point. I have worked in situations where there was no two-way communication or recognition and this left me feeling unappreciated and unfufilled in my job. I felt that management was “using” my skills but not appreciating them.

      In my current job, two way communication, honesty and recognition exist in a very positive and frequent manner. I respect my bosses and my employees equally and maintain communication (both positive and negative) with them consistantly. I feel this has prevented many potiential issues and has allowed for all work place members to feel valued and appreciated.

      This blog was great in building on my appreciation for my current successful workplace.

    Leave a Reply

